Images of America- Longmeadow
Pictorial history of Longmeadow, MA by Dr. Thomas L. Higgins- ISBN-13 978-1-4671-2925-1, Soft cover book, Published July 2018
Longmeadow, Massachusetts, lies along the east bank of the Connecticut
River, just north of the Connecticut state line. The area's rich history
predates its 1636 Puritan settlement by tens of thousands of years.
Native Americans of the Agawam tribe called the area Masacksic,
referring to the long meadows along the Quinneckiot River. Following the
Revolutionary War, Longmeadow became the first town chartered by the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Notable residents include Rev. Stephen
Williams, the "boy captive of Deerfield," and John "Johnny Appleseed"
Chapman. The town's picturesque green is surrounded by historic 18th-
and 19th-century homes. As one of Springfield's first "streetcar
suburbs," its second wave of growth was landscaped in park like
neighborhoods by the Olmsted Brothers organization. Construction of
Interstate 91 fueled a third growth wave, resulting in today's
population of nearly 16,000.